Wanderers are 2018 Hunters Edge Premier league CHAMPIONS

WANDERERS comfortably won the Namibian 50-overs Cricket Premier League final after beating CCD Tigers by six wickets on Saturday.

Tigers, batting first, were all out for 153 runs which was never going to trouble Wanderers who reached the winning target for the loss of only four wickets with six overs in hand.

Batting first, CCD lost Pelham Myburgh early on when he was bowled for a duck by Tershwin Raubenheimer, but Joshuan Julies and Picky Ya France steadied the innings with a 54-run partnership for the second wicket.

The dismissal of Julies for 30, however, triggered a collapse as CCD lost their next five wickets for only 33 runs to tumble to 103 for six wickets.

Fortune Matawu (14) and Warren van Wyk (28) added 34 runs for the ninth wicket before the whole team was out for 153 off 48,1 overs.

Gerrie Snyman was Wanderers’ best bowler, taking three wickets for 17 runs off 10 overs, while Jan Izak de Villiers took 2/18 off 7,1 overs and Michael Durant 2/46 off 10 overs.

Wanderers’ run chase got off to a great start as Wessel Myburgh and Ewald Steenkamp put on 87 runs for the first wicket.

Myburgh was first out for 39 runs, and although Tershwin Raubenheimer (8) and Gerrie Snyman (3) were dismissed cheaply, Michau du Preez joined Steenkamp to put Wanderers in charge.

Steenkamp was eventually out for 54, but Du Preez (22 not out) and Michael Durant (5 not out) took Wanderers to victory with six overs remaining.


Source:The Namibian. Helge Schutz

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email